Before Hansal Mehta’s Scam 2003, Mahesh Bhatt wanted to make a film on Telgi with Irrfan Khan in 2004 | Hindi Movie News – Times of India

After the success of Scam 1992: The Harshad Mehta Story, Hansal Mehta has now come up with another web series Scam 2003, directed by Tushar Hiranandani, revolves around Abdul Karim Telgi who was responsible for Rs 30,000 crore stamp paper scam.
It is adapted from the Hindi book ‘Reporter ki Diary’, authored by journalist Sanjay Singh, who broke the story of the scam back in the time.Many might not know that filmmakerMahesh Bhatt was also planning to make a film on Telgi in 2004.
According to Sanjay, Mahesh had called him and said he wanted to make a film that was to be directed by Pooja Bhatt, written by Neelesh Misra and Irrfan Khan will play Telgi. He also mentioned that names of Ajay Devgn and Manoj Bajpayee were also discussed.
Sanjay shared excerpts from chapter 31 of the book TELGI : Reporter’s Diary along with an audio clip on Twitter. It recalls the conversation between Sanjay and Mahesh that transpired on March 11, 2004.
“Sanjay. This is Mahesh Bhatt. I want to make a movie on Telgi and need some information.”
I said, “Bhatt Sa’ab, I am writing a book on Telgi scam. It has many details. Can you tell me what kind of details you need? I will give you all of them.”
Bhatt said from the other end, “Do one thing. Whatever that you have written, e-mail it to me.”
Two or three more days passed by. Mahesh Bhatt called me again and said, “I want to make a movie based on your book. It will be a Fact-Fiction movie.”
After three days, Mahesh Bhatt called me for a meeting. I was told Pooja Bhatt will direct & Niles Mishra will do screenplay. & Irfan Khan will play Telgi.
Ajay Devgan and then Manoj Bajpayee’s name was discussed too,” read the excerpt.

Scam 2003 stars renowned theatre actor Gagan Dev Riar as Telgi, Sana Amin Sheikh, Bhavana Balsaver, Bharat Jadhav, J. D. Chakravarthy, Bharat Dabholkar, Shashank Ketkar, Talat Aziz, Nikhil Ratnaparkhi, Vivek Mishra, Hitha Chandrashekhar, Ajay Jadhav and Dinesh Lal Yadav.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: