India bat, bring in Ravi Bishnoi after blow to Kuldeep Yadav

Toss India chose to bat vs West Indies

Hardik Pandya won the toss and opted to bat in the second T20I against West Indies in Georgetown. India were forced to make a change to the side that lost the first T20I on Thursday, with left-arm wristspinner Kuldeep Yadav missing out as a precautionary measure after being hit in the nets. His place was taken by legspinner Ravi Bishnoi, who has 16 wickets in ten T20Is so far, the last of which came against Pakistan in September 2022.

That meant India continued to play with a long tail, with virtually four No. 11s – a situation which could put their top seven under pressure yet again, after they failed to score 37 off the last 27 balls in the first T20I.

Rovman Powell announced an unchanged West Indies XI from the game in Tarouba, where his side was victorious by four runs. Powell expected the pitch to get better for batting as the match wore on.

West Indies have a 1-0 lead in the five-match series, and are chasing back-to-back T20I wins against India for the first time since 2016.

West Indies: 1 Brandon King, 2 Kyle Mayers, 3 Johnson Charles (wk), 4 Nicholas Pooran, 5 Shimron Hetmyer, 6 Rovman Powell (capt), 7 Jason Holder, 8 Romario Shepherd, 9 Akeal Hosein, 10 Alzarri Joseph, 11 Obed McCoy

India: 1 Shubman Gill, 2 Ishan Kishan (wk), 3 Suryakumar Yadav, 4 Tilak Varma, 5 Hardik Pandya (capt), 6 Sanju Samson, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Ravi Bishnoi, 9 Yuzvendra Chahal, 10 Arshdeep Singh, 11 Mukesh Kumar


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: